Despite the fact that I am still a bit nervous about putting myself (or at least some of my thoughts) out into the great wide world web, I’m taking a deep breath and jumping. The reason? I have a wonderful, loving family and many similarly wonderful friends, nearly all of whom have threatened drastic action if they don’t hear from me more often. As out here, at the veritable ends of the earth, phone contact is less than convenient most of the time, I am hoping that by starting this blog I will be able to reassure my friends and loved ones of my continued existence without having to resort to mass e-mails that clog up everyone’s inbox. This way, you are more than welcome to come and read at your leisure or not, as you desire, and I can hopefully avoid writing mass-produced impersonal e-mails telling the same story fifty times.

The title of this blog, of course, reflects our current location (or at least what it feels like at times), but also to a very well-known scripture, which I’ll include here because it’s a useful reminder to me of what I should be focusing on out here when I am frustrated with our highly circumscribed lives:

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my winesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”
Acts 1:8
It’s true that we’re not out here as missionaries in the traditional sense, but Danny and I have been very convicted of late of the need for us to act as such in our every day lives, whatever our occupation. So I would ask all of you who read this to lift us up in that endeavor, and to keep us accountable as well by checking up on us!
