One of my favorite things to do to relax is to knit, especially since I like to do something else while I’m watching a movie. Unfortunately I don’t have a ton of time to do it lately, since I’m not terribly conversational when I’m knitting and I don’t get a whole lot of time to talk to Danny as it is. Today, though, I decided to try to use up some of my left-over yarn to make something but I had to size it down from the pattern to make what I wanted. This is where the trouble started, since sizing down knitting patterns involves fractions and proportions and things that I’m generally not all that great at. So we’ll see if the project turns out horribly awry (is that how you spell that?), because I get sort of mixed up when there are too many numbers involved.

Right now I’m working to finish a V-neck sweater for Sean, who is almost a year old. I think it’s going to be really cute, actually. I’ll post a picture of it when it’s done. Of course, in order for it to be truly done I will have to do my least favorite part of a knitting project and actually sew it together. I don’t know why, but I’ve never enjoyed that part of it. It seems like sort of a let-down after the fun of actually getting to make something out of a ball of yarn to have to sit there and sew all the parts together, especially since it’s never as perfectly seamed as I want it to be. If I lived near a knitting store I would totally pay them whatever they asked to sew my projects together for me!

I think the danger of such a hobby is that I have a lot more fun thinking up projects and buying yarn for them and starting them than I do finishing them — once I’ve gotten bored with the pattern or the yarn I usually end up setting them down and not picking them up again for months. Either that or I work on them obsessively until they’re done (a la the baby blanket I made when I was home on R&R — one whole blanket in a week!). So right now I have the raw materials for at least three or four projects and two that I started months ago but don’t want to look at right now all just sitting around, and I just went out and found yarn for a new project yesterday on the internet. I think I’m going to have to put a self-imposed ban on buying more yarn until I finish at least one of the projects that I’m working on. Either that or I need to figure out how to make these balls of yarn that are stowed away in every free space in our bedroom into a conversation piece/art display. šŸ™‚

