I just looked at my last post and realized it was a month ago almost…that would explain all of the “where the heck are you?!” e-mails that I’ve been getting. Apologize, I was traveling for work and not able to keep this updated while I was away. But I’m back now, and getting ever closer to our next R&R! We’re a month out now, which is pretty exciting although still too far off for my taste. In the meantime we’re living vicariously through planning all the details of where we’ll stay and where we’ll eat and where we want to go walking (the most crucial part of our vacations these days, since we can’t walk around outside here for more than a hundred yards without running into a wall…).

I bought a couple of new carpets during my trip, which are slightly impractical since they don’t both fit in our apartment here, but I really loved them and figured it was worth our while. It’s so nice to be back home, though, even though it’s a temporary home. Being away from Danny always makes me realize how much I enjoy his company. Not that I don’t know it when I’m here, but I start to take it a bit for granted until I’m surrounded by other people for most of the time and then I realize how much more fun I have with him than with anyone else. The other cool thing about being gone for a little while is that when I got back there were several packages waiting for me, including a care package from my grandparents and one from my in-laws, and I love getting packages. Danny saved them all up for me because he knows I love to open them up, even when it’s something I’ve ordered. I’m like a little kid that way, I guess. 🙂

The weather here has been slightly wretched for the past several days — the lack of humidity is one of the better points of living here, and the fact that once the sun goes down the nights are really nice because it cools off, but it’s been really humid since I got back. Feels a bit like being back in DC for the summer.

I started reading a book during my trip that I was so interested in that I ended up ordering it online. I haven’t gotten more than fifteen pages in, but once I finish reading it I might have to try my hand at a book review on here. It’s called “The ‘Great Satan’ Vs. the ‘Mad Mullahs’: How the United States and Iran Demonize Each Other.” The author is an anthropologist, and he examines the rhetoric used by the United States and Iran about one another and how that’s impacted the course of their relations since the Iranian revolution. I don’t know much more than that at this point, but I’m really excited about getting to read the rest of it, since it seems like a really well researched book.

