Apparently sitting at one’s desk for 12 hours a day does NOT help one stay in shape. I seem to remember reading that somewhere, but I was reminded of that lesson afresh today. Yesterday was one of the first warmish days we’ve had, and in a fit of spring fever I agreed to a game of pick-up soccer on the front lawn of the compound here. And as if that weren’t enough of a shock to my atrophied muscles, after the game my friend and I decided to do some acrobatics on the grass, including my first back walk-over in probably a decade.

Suffice it to say that the goose egg-sized lump on my shin is the least painful result of that game — every muscle in my body is screaming at me today. But it was FUN! I realized what a negative effect the endless hours of fluorescent lights and computer screens must have been having on my general outlook when 90 minutes in the sunshine running around and trying to do an aerial again (not totally successful, but then again I used to have spring floors on my side!) made me feel like a totally new person. We’ve decided that the soccer game should be a weekly occurrence, and despite the fact that I’ll probably be back to sporting constant bruises like I did all through my childhood and high school, I’m totally psyched to have something to look forward to on Fridays. I’ll just have to invest in pain killers for Saturdays…

