Last night Danny and I made dinner for my parents and my grandfather, which was pretty exciting since it’s maybe the first time we’ve cooked dinner together when we’ve had access to whatever ingredients we wanted since our vacation in New Zealand in January. We were inspired to try our own take on shrimp and grits after I obsessed about eating them last month only to be somewhat unpleasantly surprised when it arrived at my table swimming in sherry cream sauce. We decided we could make a better sort of Cajun/Italian version without the cream sauce or the sherry, and although I might tweak one or two things, I think we succeeded in doing that.

Instead of grits, we made polenta, which we refrigerated for a few hours and then grilled briefly. We also grilled Italian sausages, shrimp, onions, tomatoes and bell peppers, which we layered on top of the polenta. I squished the grilled tomatoes a little bit when I put them onto the stack to moisten it up, but next time I might stew the tomatoes instead to make a sort of a light fresh tomato sauce. We also steamed some zucchini and some summer squash to go next to the shrimp and other things.

I forgot to get a picture of it before we ate it, but it turned out looking very pretty and I definitely liked it better than the kind that was drowning in cream sauce!

