One of the things I want to be able to do now that I’m going to be home more is experiment with more time-consuming things like baking bread that I never seemed to have time to do when I was working all the time. Yesterday I made a half whole wheat loaf to ease my way into bread making, which turned out pretty well. I did it the lazy way by letting the bread machine do all the kneading and the first rising for me, which worked out perfectly since I was able to keep unpacking and getting the house ready for our visitors this weekend and the kitchen wasn’t covered in flour the way it usually is when I try to knead by hand.

This morning I made some whole grain cheese muffins, which turned out really well aside from the fact that they stuck to the bottom of the muffin cups a bit. I think if I butter and flour the cups next time instead of just spraying them with cooking spray that should take care of some of the sticking. I got the recipe from the Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book, which I love because all of the recipes are 100% whole grain, as opposed to most “whole grain” recipe books that I have, which are really only partially whole grain.

The recipe notes to make sure you use a robust cheese as otherwise the flavor won’t come through, which I can definitely see. I used some Cabot cheddar, which is really sharp and flavorful, and they tasted really good. Our blender is still making its way here with the rest of our household effects, so I used the food processor to turn the oats into floury meal. Also, I didn’t have fresh buttermilk so I used powdered buttermilk, following the package directions to mix in the powder with the dry ingredients and the water with the liquids.

Cheese Muffins

  • 2 tablespoons minced chives or onions
  • 2 tablespoons butter or oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup grated Swiss cheese and 3/4 teaspoon dill weed or parsley OR 1/2 cup grated cheddar and 1/2 teaspoon mustard
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder

Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease a 12-cup muffin tin.

If you use chives, they need not be cooked, but the onions are best when sauteed until soft in the butter or oil. Let the sauteed onion cool before adding to the batter.

Beat the egg, butter or oil, and onion or chives together. Stir in the buttermilk and seasoned cheese.

Blend the oats in blender to make about 1 1/2 cups of floury meal — or use 1 cup oat flour and 1/2 cup rolled oat flakes. Sift the other dry ingredients together and then stir in the flakes. Add the dry ingredients to the cheese mixture, stirring just enough mix.

Spoon into the muffin tin and bake about 15 minutes (I left them in there for an extra few minutes but that might just be my oven). These muffins are a pale, creamy color on top, and golden brown on the bottom and sides when done.

