One of the scary things I had to do once I was no longer a military brat was figuring out how to choose doctors and dentists. I realize that lots of people do this all the time, but after twenty one years of going to whoever was on duty for sick call that day, the prospect was awfully intimidating.

I was thinking about that today, as I somehow managed to end up with both a really great dentist and a fabulous set of OBs. I found both through the recommendations of people I worked with, which I guess is how most people who have to find doctors in a new city probably do it, but who knows?

What impresses me most about both of the docs is the little touches of humanity that they interject into their interaction with me as a patient. For instance, my dentist had to reschedule my appointment today. Her office called a week in advance, asking if I could come in two hours later. Not only did the receptionist thank me for agreeing to change times when I talked to her on the phone, but today when I showed up in the office, the dentist immediately thanked me for being so flexible and taking the later appointment. She didn’t really have to do that, but I appreciated that she did.

One of the things I really like about my OB practice is that when they call to tell you about our lab results, the actual doctor that I saw at my last appointment calls me, not one of their receptionists or assistants. For some bizarre reason my house is a black hole for phones right now, so I usually end up hearing them on my voice mail, but I like that if I were able to receive phone calls I could actually talk to a doctor in case I had questions.

