If you had asked me yesterday which music video I was most obsessed with, without hesitation I would have told you it was the video for “Beautiful Liar,” with Shakira and Beyonce. Seriously, it’s just a freaking cool video. I will admit that I have a total girl crush on Shakira, because between her voice and her awesome belly dancing moves I just think she’s the bees knees. And I personally think it was a stroke of brilliance the way the video for “Beautiful Liar” was put together, it’s just a beautiful video.

Now, however, thanks to my beloved friend Shannon, I have a new obsession — the “Summertime” video by NKOTB. Not for the same reasons AT ALL, mind you. “Beautiful Liar” is a piece of music video genius. The fascination with “Summertime” the video is really more like trying to avert one’s eyes from an intoxicated co-worker making a fool of themselves at the office Christmas party. You know you should, but at the same time you just can’t resist observing the bizarre behaviour. I mean, I loved NKOTB as much as anyone in 1991 — in fact, other than one Oak Ridge Boys concert at Busch Gardens, theirs was the first concert I remember going to. I had the nightshirt, the tapes, and would have had the set of action figures if my parents hadn’t put their collective feet down about shelling money for such ludicrousness. But a boy band full of teenagers (I think Jon may have been in his early twenties maybe, but as I recall when they started Joey was only like 13 or 14) is a very different thing than a boy band full of men in their thirties.

In the spirit of full disclosure, I have to admit that I actually paid money to watch the video, that’s how badly I wanted to see it. I tried to find it online, but thanks to the court order banning YouTube in Turkey (click here for more information) and to VH1 disallowing users outside the U.S. watching videos on their site, I had no choice. So I am now the proud owner of the video through ITunes. Any time I start thinking that I’m still young and cool, this video will be a useful tool to remind me that I am in fact getting perilously close to 30.

