Danny and I both love quiche, and his mother makes really good ones, but he and I have never tried to make one. Tonight I was at a bit of a loss as to how to use up more of the overabundance of zucchini in our fridge (note to self: do not buy 2 kilos of zucchini. It is too much for the two of us to eat), and I proposed a frittata, but Danny wanted to try making quiche instead. We used this crust recipe, taking the “quick and easy” route of not refridgerating the dough and then rolling it out, but rather pressing it straight into our only approximately suitable pan, an 8″ square metal baking dish. We used this recipe as a general guideline for the filling, although we didn’t have Gruyere, heavy cream or whole milk, so we used a mixture of a Turkish aged sheep’s milk cheese and cheddar and 2% milk instead.

Given all of the adjustments, I was a little fearful for how it would turn out, but it was actually quite lovely! We ate it with a green salad. Definitely not a healthy meal given the copious amounts of bacon and butter, but certainly a nice treat. I didn’t get a picture of it before we dug in, so you’ll have to use your imagination.

Last night I made tuna noodle casserole (at Danny’s special request). I used my mom’s recipe (included below, thanks Dad for sending it!), but had to make some substitutions. Per my mom’s advice, I cut way back on the amount of fat…I think I probably used a tablespoon or a tablespoon and a half. We didn’t have green peppers, so I grated up a zucchini (are you sensing a theme to this week’s meals yet?), and I didn’t have pimentos so I finely grated a carrot for color. The carrot, by the way, did not actually add color once it was cooked, but I was comforted by the thought that it added a little beta carotene to our meal. We used whole wheat spirals instead of elbow macaroni. Such a good comfort food!

1 can tuna
1 1/2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni
3 Tbsp fat (original recipe called for bacon grease)
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/3 cup chopped green peppers
2 Tbsp flour
1 1/3 cup milk
1 can Cream of Mushroom soup
1/3 cup chopped pimento
Sprinkle thyme

Sauté onion & green pepper in fat. Blend in flour. Stir in milk & soup. Cook until smooth. Combine with Tuna, macaroni & pimento. Pour into 1 quart greased casserole & bake covered 30 minutes in 350 degree oven. Remove lid after 20 min.

