dscn21412So as per our menu plan, we had Indian night this past Tuesday.  It was a huge success!  I apologize for the picture…I’m still working on my food photography skills. 🙂  Everything came out really well, though.  Clockwise from the top is the okra cooked in onions, rice, lamb with mint and vinegar, mango chutney, and lemon pickle.  The lemon pickle we made when Maryan was visiting, so it’s the one thing we can actually claim is authentic, but I have to say that the rest of it all really did taste like Indian food!

We found the recipes for the okra and lamb in An Invitation to Indian Cooking by Madhur Jaffrey, and I was really impressed with how easy the directions were to follow.  We picked up the original 1973 version free at a church yard sale a few years ago, but have never actually tried to cook anything from it before now.  The recipes definitely have a long list of ingredients, but don’t let that intimidate you — they’re actually very easy to prepare.  I think the recipe for okra could be used for pretty much any vegetable you wanted to cook with a delicious Indian flavor.

