I’ve never really done a book review on here before, but now is as good a time to start as any, I suppose!

basraDanny’s sister Margo gave Stephen The Librarian of Basra several months ago, and I’ve looked at it myself a few times but today was the first time I brought it out to read it to him.  Not only did he love looking at the illustrations, I was reminded how much I love this book.  The illustrations are interesting and eye-catching, and the author does a wonderful job of presenting some of the human costs of war without getting so political and preachy that the story loses precedence to an agenda.  I would highly recommend this book to anyone with children, or to anyone like me who’s shameless enough to own and look at children’s books even when there are no children about to use as an excuse.

