Wow, I should do all projects that are only 10″ square apparently.  I love the instant gratification of finishing something the day after I start it!  I’m done with my first square, and have already cast on the second one.  The first one ended up being only 9 1/2″ wide, so I knit it to be 9 1/2″ long as well and then crocheted a border of single crochet around the edge to make it exactly 10″.  I think it turned out pretty well!

For the second one I’m trying the method of knitting it diagonally so that it’s easy to make sure it’s exactly 10″.  I started with 3 stitches, am increasing one stitch every row until the side measures 10″, and then I’ll decrease 1 stitch every row until I’m back down to 3 stitches.  One of the ladies in our knit night group sent out directions for doing this, and it’s pretty awesome to be able to make it a perfect square without having to worry that my gague is off.

