narnia In an effort to keep things a little more interesting during the day for Stephen (I mean, I may love the idea of knitting and reading all day long, but it probably wouldn’t be much fun for him) I’ve decided to start reading aloud to him for a couple of hours every day.  He’s just started really showing interest in listening to stories, but he’s not yet interested enough in the pictures to sit still for them, so I figured I may as well take advantage of that and read him some of the longer children’s books that I loved but that don’t have any pictures in them.  I’m starting with The Chronicles of Narnia, but eventually would also like to read him Doctor Doolittle, The Secret Garden, Little Women, and the Roald Dahl books that I have from my childhood.  He seems to really like listening to Danny or me read while he crawls around, and has even started pulling out a book and dragging it over to us.  They actually have a toddler story time at the base library, but it’s at 10am, which is right smack in the middle of his morning nap, so until he’s down to one nap a day (no time soon I hope) that will have to wait.

