Last night our knit night group pieced together the afghan we all made squares for, and the results are amazing.  We ended up with a beautiful blanket that’s about 40×55, in all shades of blues and greens and purples.  I’ll admit that when I saw some of the individual squares I wasn’t sure how it was ever going to come together into something that looked coherent, but it really did.  Everyone pitched in and helped sew it together and weave in the ends, and I crocheted a border around the edge to finish it off.  I think it looks really great, and I can tell you from having it on my lap while doing the border that it’s definitely warm and soft.  I’ve boxed it up, and Danny will mail it out to afghans for Afghans tomorrow.  I don’t think I’ve ever felt this good about a knitting project.  The fact that everyone really pitched in makes it ever better, we have squares from really experienced knitters and crocheters as well as from people who had never finished a project before this, and the effort everyone put in to making this just blows me away.

