Most of my “quick” sewing project turn into involved, infuriating, rage-inducing debacles, so finding a sewing project that actually can be done in well under half an hour is somewhat of a coup for me.  Stephen has desperately needed mittens for at least a month now, but my first attempt at making them for him turned into a classic knitting snafu (the first mitten is finished, beautiful, warm, and won’t fit him until at least next winter, so the second has yet to be completed).  I was racking my brain trying to come up with a way to make him some warm, inexpensive mittens that wouldn’t take more than a couple of hours, when I suddenly realized I could probably sew some out of the fleece that I bought last year to make soakers and longies.

I used this tutorial, although I ended up having to wing the shape of the mitten a bit because I couldn’t keep Stephen’s hand still on the fabric long enough to properly trace around it.  My first sewing attempt was a little bit too snug, but I just ripped that seam out and sewed it again with a smaller seam allowance and they were just fine.  The best part is that, since they’re fleece, I don’t have to worry about finishing any of the seams or even hemming them if I don’t want to.  Although the pattern called for elastic around the wrist, I found that because of the stretch of the fleece (make sure you cut the fabric with the stretch going horizontally across the wrist opening, not lengthwise!) and the snugness of my wrist opening, I don’t even need elastic.  The fleece stretches enough to get the opening over Stephen’s hand, but is tight enough to keep the gloves on without slipping.

I took Stephen out to play in the snow today, and his new mittens worked beautifully!  His fingers were dry and only a little chilly when I brought him inside, despite the fact that he spent most of his time outdoors with his mittens fully submerged in snowbanks.

