Does everyone else out there agree that maternity clothes are generally pretty wretched?  I mean, as good as an elastic waistband may sound after Thanksgiving dinner, it just seems to me like it’s impossible to find maternity clothes that I’m not having to constant adjust because they’re falling down or riding up.  And don’t get me started on the demi-panel trend.  Whoever thought it was a good idea to put the elastic straight across the widest part of my belly rather than above it or below it has clearly never been pregnant.  Or they were, and hated it, and now want to punish all those who come after them.

*Deep breath*

I think once it gets not freezing outside it’ll be a little bit easier, because I actually have several skirts that are comfortable (the awesome maternity skirt my friend K from Diaper Their Faces made being my current favorite!), but right now it’s so cold that I have to wear tights or leggings under them.  Maternity tights, with the built-in space for a pregnant belly, are still falling down all the time, but regular ones squeeze me very uncomfortably and make me feel nauseous by the end of the day.  Once it warms up enough to ditch the tights things will be a little easier.

But this wasn’t intended to be a rant.  I was actually really excited to find this tutorial on See Mommy Sew, which looks like an awesome way to make maternity skirts that would be cute, comfortable, and customized to your particular shape.  If I had an extra $50 laying around (and/or if I hadn’t already had my birthday this year), I would totally get this one from her etsy shop.  The tulle…I just love the black tulle at the bottom.  So fun.  I think I have enough fabric in my scrap bag to try my hand at making one of these, and if I’m reasonably successful I might have to get some really fun fabric to make myself a couple more!

